M.E.G.A.

McGill Extreme Gravity & Accretion Group
haggard_edited.jpg
Daryl Haggard

Principal Investigator

As head of M.E.G.A. I am proud to have a diverse group of enthusiastic astrophysicists working with me.


Email: daryl.haggard@mcgill.ca

hope_boyce_photo.jpeg
Hope Boyce

PhD Graduate Student

Hope joined the team in 2016. Her focus is on supermassive black hole gas dynamics in Sgr A* and other nearby galaxies.

Email: hope.boyce@mail.mcgill.ca

nick_vieira_ingonish.jpg
Nicholas Vieira

PhD Graduate Student

Nick joined the team in 2020. He works to identify optical and infrared counterparts to GW sources.
 

Email: nicholas.vieira@mail.mcgill.ca 

Screen Shot 2021-05-05 at 5.55.06 PM.png
Sam Gagnon-Hartman

MSc Graduate Student

Sam joined the team in 2021. He located primarily at Bishop’s University and is co-supervised by John Ruan.

Email: sgagnon20@ubishops.ca

MEGA Photo.jpeg
Nayyer Raza

PhD Graduate Student (W'22)

Nayyer will join the team in Winter 2022. He will use machine learning and multi-messenger astrophysics to study compact object mergers.

Email: nayyer.raza@mail.mcgill.ca

kristen_edited.jpg
Kristen Dage

Postdoctoral Fellow

Kristen joined the team in 2020. She uses multi-wavelength observations to ID the brightest
X-ray sources in star clusters.

 

Email: kcdage@msu.edu

Screen Shot 2019-08-02 at 7.14_edited.pn
Soud Al Kharusi 

PhD Graduate Student

Soud joined the team in 2018. His focus is on multi-messenger astrophysics and “next” Enriched Xenon Observatory (nEXO).

Email: soud.alkharusi@mail.mcgill.ca

anan_lu.jpg
Anan Lu

PhD Graduate Student

Anan joined the team in 2020. She works on characterizing star formation in nearby galaxies with the SITELLE instrument on CFHT.

Email: anan.lu@mail.mcgill.ca

Headshot_edited.jpg
Nicole Ford

MSc Graduate Student

Nicole joined the team in 2021. She is using multi-messenger astrophysics to study compact object mergers.

Email: nicole.ford@mail.mcgill.ca

Screen Shot 2021-05-05 at 6.05.13 PM.png
Maïmouna Brigitte

Visiting MSc Grad Student

Maïmouna will join us during the summer 2021, but is primarily at Université Grenoble Alpes.

Email: maimouna.brigitte@etu.univ-grenoble-alpes.fr

Looking Through Telescope

M.E.G.A. Undergrads

Thomas Abbott (thesis)
Honours Math/Physics 

Emma Barbisan
Liberal Prog CS/Physics
 
Eitan Buffaz
Majors Physics/CS 

Maude Larivière 
(thesis)
Major Physics 

Alexandra Bojanich (
thesis)
Major Physics  

Past M.E.G.A. Members

Screen Shot 2019-08-02 at 10.03_edited.p

Brayden Mon, BSc