top of page

 

M.E.G.A.

McGill Extreme Gravity & Accretion Group
Join the Team
haggard_edited.jpg
Daryl Haggard

Principal Investigator

As head of M.E.G.A. I am proud to have a diverse group of enthusiastic astrophysicists working with me.

 


Email: daryl.haggard@mcgill.ca

Screen Shot 2019-08-02 at 7.14_edited.png
Soud Al Kharusi 

PhD Graduate Student

Soud joined the team in 2018. His focus is on multi-messenger astrophysics and “next” Enriched Xenon Observatory (nEXO).

Email: soud.alkharusi@mail.mcgill.ca

anan_lu.jpg
Anan Lu

PhD Graduate Student

Anan joined the team in 2020. She works on characterizing star formation in nearby galaxies with the SITELLE instrument on CFHT.

Email: anan.lu@mail.mcgill.ca

Headshot (1)_edited.jpg
Nicole Ford

PhD Graduate Student

Nicole joined the team in 2021. She is using multi-messenger astrophysics to study compact object mergers.

Email: nicole.ford@mail.mcgill.ca

Screen Shot 2022-10-12 at 11.20_edited.jpg
Élodie Lescure

MSc Graduate Student

Élodie joined the team in 2022. She is located primarily at Bishop’s University and is co-supervised by John Ruan.

Email: elescure22@ubishops.ca

img_0112_edited_edited.jpg
Bailey Tetarenko

Postdoctoral Fellow

Bailey joined in 2022. She focuses on the study of the physical processes governing astrophysical accretion discs in compact binary systems in our Galaxy.

Email: btetaren@ttu.edu

ManLeongChanMervyn-276x300.png
Mervyn Chan 

Postdoctoral Fellow

Mervyn joined the team in 2022 to work on GWSkyNet. He is primarily located at UBC, where he also works closely with Jess McIver.

Email: mervync@phas.ubc.ca

physics_circle.png
Nicholas Vieira

PhD Graduate Student

Nick joined the team in 2020. He works to identify optical and infrared counterparts to GW sources.

Email: nicholas.vieira@mail.mcgill.ca

MEGA Photo.jpeg
Nayyer Raza

PhD Graduate Student

Nayyer joined the team in Winter 2022. He will use machine learning and multi-messenger astrophysics to study compact object mergers.

Email: nayyer.raza@mail.mcgill.ca

Screenshot 2023-08-11 at 7.39.16 PM.png
Gabriel Sasseville

MSc Graduate Student

Gabriel joined the team in 2023. He is based at the University of Montreal  and is co-supervised with Dr. Julie Hlavacek-Larrondo.

Email: gabriel.sasseville@umontreal.ca

Looking Through Telescope

M.E.G.A. Undergrads

Ben Cheung

Honours Physics

Sara Babic
Major Physics & CS

 

Marissa Lindon
Major Physics 

bottom of page